Salamone Rossi: Sonata quarta sopra l’aria di Ruggiero – Voices of Music, Hanneke van Proosdij, David Tayler, Elizabeth Blumenstock, Alana Youssefian, Elisabeth Reed

Salamone Rossi’s variations over the “Ruggiero” ground bass. Live, 4K video from the Voices of Music “Concerto delle Donne” concert, October, 2019. Performed on original instruments. Salamone Rossi (שלמה מן האדומים) was a pioneer in the development of the trio sonata and the violin. Book three was published in Venice in 1613, and our edition was made from the extant 1623 print.
Rossi uses the repeating harmonic pattern, or ground bass for most of the sonata, breaking out in a walking bass at the conclusion. The ground bass was known in the 17th century as “Ruggiero,” probably a reference to Ariosto’s immmensely popular Orlando Furioso (“Ruggier, qual sempre fui, tal esser voglio”). Rossi writes a note to the musicians “si replica l’ultima parte ma più presto”–play the repeat faster. And so we did!
Voices of Music
Hanneke van Proosdij & David Tayler, directors
Elizabeth Blumenstock & Alana Youssefian, baroque violins
Elisabeth Reed, viola da gamba
Hanneke van Proosdij, harpsichord
David Tayler, baroque guitar

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s