Agostino Steffani: Stabat Mater XII; Quando corpus morietur – Voices of Music, Céline Ricci, Jennifer Ellis Kampani, Clifton Massey, Christopher LeCluyse, Paul Elliott, John Bischoff, Hanneke van Proosdij, David Tayler

Hey everyone~! Please consider a donation, and we will make more videos like this one 🙂 We need your help! The final movement from the Stabat Mater of Agostino Steffani, performed by the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music. After a brief introduction of ruffled homophony, Steffani presents the final lines of text and the Amen in the form of a six-part double fugue. The bipartite first fugue subject also provides supporting thematic material, and, after a vigorous exposition, the second fugue theme is introduced as an instrumental interlude: the two themes are then brilliantly combined for the final section where the instruments and voices join together, effectively creating a contrapuntal triptych–an exceptional work of ingenuity and passion by a composer writing at the end of a long and varied career. 4K UHD video from our March, 2015, concert in San Francisco. Visit us on the web at

Text and Translation: Quando corpus morietur fac ut animae donetur paradisi gloria. Amen. When my body dies, grant that my soul is given the glory of paradise. Amen

Voices of Music Hanneke van Proosdij and David Tayler, directors

The musicians (left to right, back to front)

Céline Ricci, soprano

Jennifer Ellis Kampani, soprano

Clifton Massey, countertenor

Christopher LeCluyse, tenor

Paul Elliott, tenor

John Bischoff, bass

Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, Italy, 1660 Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Bloomington, Indiana, 1999 (after Antonio Stradivari, Cremona, Italy, 17th century) Kati Kyme, baroque baroque viola, Germany, anonymous, 18th century Lisa Grodin, baroque viola by Mathias Eberl, Salzburg, Austria, 1680 David Daniel Bowes, baroque viola by Richard Duke, London, England, ca. 1780 Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, baroque cello, Anonymous, 18th century Farley Pearce, violone by George Stoppani, Manchester, 1985, after Amati, 1560 David Tayler, archlute by Andreas von Holst, Munich, 2012, after Tieffenbrucker, c1610 Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ by Winold van der Putten, Finsterwolde, Netherlands, 2004, after early 18th-century northern German instruments.

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s