Georg Friedrich Händel: Dettingen Te Deum – HWV 283 – Matthew White, Frédéric Antoun, Joshua Hopkins, San Francisco Symphony & San Francisco Symphony Chorus, Bernard Labadie

Dettingen Te Deum, HWV 283 (Live)

1. We praise Thee, O God

2. All the earth does worship

3. To Thee all angels cry aloud

4. To Thee Cherubin and Seraphim

5. The glorious company of th’apostles

6. Thine honourable, true, and only Son

7. Thou art the King of glory

8. When Thou tookest upon Thee

9. When Thou hadst overcome the sharpness of death

10. Thou didst open the kingdom of heaven

11. Thou sittest at the right hand of God

12. (Adagio)

13. We therefore pray Thee

14. Make them to be number’d

15. Day by day we magnify Thee

16. And we worship Thy name

17. Vouchsafe, O Lord

18. O Lord, in Thee have


I trusted History: On 27 June 1743, the British army and its allies, under the command of King George II and Lord Stair, won a victory at the Battle of Dettingen, over the French army, commanded by the Maréchal de Noailles and the Duc de Grammont. On the King’s return a day of public thanksgiving was appointed, and Handel, at that time “Composer of the Musick to the Chapel Royal,” was commissioned to write a Te Deum and an anthem (“The King Shall Rejoice”) for the occasion.

The work was composed between 17 and 29 July 1743 and was first performed on 27 November 1743 in the Chapel Royal of St. James’s Palace, London in the presence of George II.

Soloists: Matthew White, Frédéric Antoun & Joshua Hopkins Orchestra & Chorus: San Francisco Symphony & San Francisco Symphony Chorus Conductor: Bernard Labadie Composer: Georg Friedrich Händel (1685 – 1759)

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s