Vittorio Monti: Czardas (Csárdás) – Voices of Music, Alana Youssefian, Carla Moore, Augusta Mckay Lodge, Kati Kyme, Gabrielle Wunsch, Amy Wang, Maria Caswell, Lisa Grodin, William Skeen, Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, Farley Pearce, Hanneke van Proosdij, Dominic favia, Katherine Heater, David Tayler

Ring in the New Year with *Czardas* by Vittorio Monti, in an arrangement for baroque orchestra by Hanneke van Proosdij. Alana Youssefian, soloist. The Czardas is a traditional Hungarian folk dance, and the dance was set by many Classical composers. Monti published his version (using the spelling “Czardas” on the title page) in 1904, dedicated to the virtuoso violinist and singer, Juliette Dantin. The transparent and vibrant sound of the baroque strings is a nice bridge between the early 20th century sound of the Classical world and the folk music sound of the musicians who performed the traditional dances. Live, 4K ultra high definition video from our 2018 December concert in San Francisco. Please consider a donation and we will make more videos like this one!


Voices of Music Hanneke van Proosdij & David Tayler, directors

Alana Youssefian, baroque violin solo

Carla Moore, baroque violin

Augusta Mckay Lodge, baroque violin

Kati Kyme, baroque violin (second soloist)

Gabrielle Wunsch, baroque violin

Amy Wang, baroque violin

Maria Caswell, baroque viola

Lisa Grodin, baroque viola

William Skeen, baroque cello

Adaiha MacAdam-Somer, baroque cello

Farley Pearce, violone

Hanneke van Proosdij, recorder

Dominic favia, baroque trumpet

Katherine Heater, baroque organ

David Tayler, archlute


Vittorio Monti: Czardas arranged by Hanneke van Proosdij ©2018

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s