Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Trio in D major Op. 70 No. 1 “Ghost” – Jacqueline du Pré – Daniel Barenboim – Pinchas Zukerman

Daniel Barenboim – piano
Pinchas Zukerman – violin
Jacqueline du Pré – cello

Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Trio in D major, Op. 70 No. 1 “Ghost” / Klaviertrio D-Dur op. 70,1 „Geistertrio“

1:18 Allegro vivace e con brio
9:05 Largo assai ed espressivo
21:53 Presto

In 1808 the composer and violonist Louis Spohr was invited to a rehearsal in Beethoven’s house of the D Major Piano Trio Opus 70 No. 1 known as The Ghost, and wrote of the Occasion: “It was not an enjoyable experience. First of all the piano was dreadfully out of tune, which did not trouble Beethoven in the least, since he could not hear it. Little or nothing remained of the brilliant technique which had been so much admired. In loud passages the poor deaf man hammered away at the notes crashing through whole groups of them so that without the score one lost all sense of the melody. I was deeply moved by the tragedy of it all. Beethoven’s almost continual melancholy was no longer a mystery to me.”

Buy the DVD here:

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s