Johann Heinrich Schmelzer: Sonata IV a Sei; Voices of Music – David Tayler – Hanneke van Proosdij – Elizabeth Blumenstock

From Schmelzer’s collection Sacro-Profanus Concentus Musicus (Nuremberg, 1662), the six-part sonata No. 4 in A Minor. Live, HD Video from the Early Music ensemble Voices of Music, performed on original instruments, from the “Bach, Biber & Buxtehude” concert, 2013.
In 1662, Schmelzer published a collection of music for string ensemble, or strings with trumpets, trombones and cornettos in various combinations, with organ continuo. The music is especially rich and dense, a marked contrast to the more Italianate sonatas from book of solo violin music, Sonatae Unarum Fidium (see our video here…).
The musicians and their instruments (left to right)

Elizabeth Blumenstock, baroque violin by Andrea Guarneri, Cremona, 1660
Carla Moore, baroque violin by Johann Georg Thir, Vienna, Austria, 1754
Maxine Nemerovski, baroque violin by Timothy Johnson, Indiana, 1999 (after Stradivarius)
Kati Kyme, baroque viola, Germany, anonymous, 18th century
Lisa Grodin, baroque viola by Mathias Eberl, Salzburg, Austria, 1680
Farley Pearce, violone by George Stoppani, Manchester, 1985, after Amati, 1560
William Skeen, five string baroque cello, Anonymous, Italy, c1680
David Tayler, archlute by Andreas von Holst, Munich, 2012,
after Magno Tieffenbrucker, Venice, c1610
Hanneke van Proosdij, baroque organ by Winold van der Putten, Finsterwolde,
Netherlands, 2004, after early 18th-century northern German instruments

Visit us on Facebook

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s