J.S. Bach – Violin Sonata in A-Major, BWV Anh. 153


Sonata for Violin and Basso continuo in A-Major, BWV Anh. 153.

Musica Antiqa Köln, on period instruments. Reinhard Goebel, violin. Jaap ter Linden, cello. Henk Bouman, harpsichord. Attributed to J.S. Bach (1685-1750), but authorship is doubtful.

I. Allegro (0:00)
II. [Largo] (2:10)
III. [Allegro assai] (5:47)
IV. [Adagio] (7:29)
V. [Allegro] (11:11)

“Authenticity is also a problem in the case of the A Major Sonata (BWV Anh. 153), a four-movement work with some traits that are hard to reconcile with the chamber works who authenticity is beyond question. Nevertheless, the sonata appears Bach’s name in an early copy in the hand of Johann Peter Kellner (1705-72), who is generally very reliable and belonged to Bach’s close circle.”

~Christoph Wolff (translation: Mary Whittall)

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte WordPress.com. Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s