J. S. Bach: BWV deest / Concerto for traversiere, strings & b.c. in B minor / Ensemble Aurora



Concerto for traversiere, strings and basso continuo in B minor (BWV deest)

note: the musicologist Francesco Zimei has reconstructed the until now lost Flute Concerto in B minor. The inclusion of this work in the Neue Bach Ausgabe is currently being arranged. Zimei’s meticulous and detailed study has as its starting point Bach’s habit of reusing instrumental works for new vocal compositions. In this way, Zimei identifies as sources for the “new” concerto the aria Zieht euren Fuß nur nicht zurücke (BWV 207/3), the introductory sinfonia from the cantata Non sa che sia dolore (BWV 209) and an aria included in the celebratory cantata Durchlauchtster Leopold (BVW 173a). Once the magnificent results have been heard few doubts can remain that we have here a new treasure by the Kantor of the Thomasschule.

I. (Allegro) – 0:05
II. (Andante) – 5:57
III. (Allegro) – 10:45

Marcello Gatti (traversiere)
Enrico Gatti, Rossella Croce (violin)
Joanna Huszcza (viola)
Judith-Maria Olofsson (violoncello)
Riccardo Coelati (violone)
Michele Barchi (harpsichord)

Ensemble Aurora / Enrico Gatti (conductor)

Deixa un comentari

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte WordPress.com. Log Out /  Canvia )

Twitter picture

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Twitter. Log Out /  Canvia )

Facebook photo

Esteu comentant fent servir el compte Facebook. Log Out /  Canvia )

S'està connectant a %s